RSS

Goal Update

22 Jan

Now that I’m a third of the way through the 60 day challenge (22/60), I’m going through my notes from every class and glad to find a couple of things.

1.) I’ve only had had one really bad day so far, day 9. (Knock on wood, as I hope I haven’t just jinxed myself) Very grateful that the next class was full of inspiration from fellow yogi’s. It made the recovery so much faster.

2.) Something started working its way out from my right Achilles tendon on day 12 and it just stopped hurting today, day 22. I’ve mostly had throbbing discomfort throughout my right ankle, knee, and hip during that time. I’ve had to make adjustments every class to really watch my alignment when sitting on my ankles during the floor series.  As most little aches and pains seem to heal by the next day, this had me concerned after a week and had to ask several teachers advice on what to do. The consensus is to always watch the alignment and it will work its way out. This just took a lot longer than normal, but glad to see it finally getting better.

3.) Hydration, Hydration, Hydration. I’m addicted to Gatorade, apples, and oranges. Even with a constant vigil on staying as hydrated as possible, it’s a fine balancing act to not go to far….or you’re peeing all the time 🙂

4.)  Any recommendations on a hand moisturizer that can actually keep up with the daily yoga beat down of dehydration? My hands are turning into a cracked desert.

5.) To help the overall goal, I’ve given up coffee (since Jan 2) and beer (officially this past Christmas). The only caffeine has been green tea in the morning and its been going well. No raging headache withdrawal at all. Yay! I actually don’t really miss either. The coffee I don’t miss, but will probably enjoy a mixed beverage or two after this challenge is over 🙂

6.) Consistent sleep is a benefit. I’ve stopped taking naps on the weekend, just to make sure I get a full nights sleep every night. I made the mistake of naps going into the second week and that made the following Monday awful because I was up to late the night before. The key has been to be very strict with going to bed at the same time every night.

7.) Read the Fitness section of Pinterest every day. There is so much inspiration there that it helps knowing there a lot of others out there toughing out every day as well. My only ding about that section is that there aren’t enough posts of men doing yoga. Granted, I truly appreciate a woman executing an amazing posture, but it’d be good to see more guys busting out some rockin’ postures for inspiration. I suppose I should take up the task and do it myself. We’ll see how it goes when I’m done with the challenge.

8.) Very grateful to every teacher and yogi who has provided inspiration and support.

I hope your challenge is going well and I wish you the best.

Namaste,

Mike

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 22, 2012 in 60 in 60, yoga

 

Leave a Reply

 
